Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
shanes
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: shane scanlon

Snapshot File Issues and More

Post by shanes »

Im new to Veeam and have hit several issues which I need to get a better understanding about.
I have a client with a single ESX 4.0 server and 3 hosts, one of which is a SBS2008 server. Recently I had a issue whereby Veeam caused the server to create _1.vmdk files in which grew to the same size of the orginal vmdk file and of course this meant I run out of space.

Im not sure if this is a issue with 4.1 and have upgraded to 4.1.1 however I can not have this happen again! Also I have the backups running off to a Windows 7 PC and during this crash I had to restore the backup to a new ESX server I took onsite. My concern here is that during the restore, I found that it took 10 hours to restore only 240Gb of data to the replacement ESX server. This was way too long and Im wondering if there is another issue here or maybe the compression settings should be modificed or something else to cut that recovery time down.
Secondly even with VSS enabled and no errors on the Backup job, once the box was recovered the Server had lost the fact that it was a DC (critical for SBS) and all I could do was log into Safe mode... I had to rebuild the system and migrate data!

Can I get some infromation on this and possibel solutions moving forward on these issues... thanks
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Snapshot File Issues and More

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Shane,

Welcome to Veeam comminuty forums! I believe this is a snapshot file that you're talking about, because Veeam doesn't create any virtual disks, we create snapshots of the source VM while backup/replication job is performed. This snapshot file is used while original VMDK is being backed up. And the size of the snapshot depends on the actual data change on your SBS server during a backup job period.