Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kins
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: David Kinsella

Veeam Replication query

Post by kins »

I am new to version 4.

I have a scenario where I would like to replicate 20 VMs running on 3 ESX hosts to a DR site. The DR site will have one ESX server and attached storage as the destination.

What is the required round-trip time between the HQ and DR site for replication to work? Replication will run twice a day.

Does Veeam support Red Hat Linux and Server 2008?

Is there much of a hit on the source VM during replication?

Is there a space requirement on the source datastore? Other products require 10% storage space free on the source datastore for replication to be successful.

In the event of a disaster, is it just a matter of powering on the VMs in the DR site?

If the link went down during replication can the program recover?

Would the VM be usable if disaster struck during replication and before replication finished?
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6693 times

Re: Veeam Replication query

Post by Gostev »

Hello,

What is the required round-trip time between the HQ and DR site for replication to work? Replication will run twice a day.
You will need to test it given your environment specifics, as it depends on link speed and the amount of changes in your VMs.

Does Veeam support Red Hat Linux and Server 2008?
Yes

Is there much of a hit on the source VM during replication?
Not noticeable if you have ESX4

Is there a space requirement on the source datastore? Other products require 10% storage space free on the source datastore for replication to be successful.
You need to have some disk space available to host VM snapshot during replication, but not as much because with our near-CDP technology replications are generally very fast and snapshot does not grow very large.

In the event of a disaster, is it just a matter of powering on the VMs in the DR site?