Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
martin_nz
Enthusiast
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Martin

Problems recovering email using Veeam Explorer for Exchange

Post by martin_nz »

Hello,

I am relatively new to Veeam and I am working on Exchange backups at the moment.

When I try to restore an email directly to the production mailbox using the Explorer for MS Exchange I am getting the following in my restore summary

0 items successfully created
0 items merged
0 items failed

I have full access to the target mailbox.

Is there something I am doing wrong? Do I need to assign specific permissions to my admin user?

I can restore email fine via SMTP
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Problems recovering email using Veeam Explorer for Excha

Post by foggy »

Martin, any chance you're restoring the e-mail that was not changed since the backup? In this case the behavior is expected. Could you try to remove some unneded e-mail from production mailbox and restore it?
martin_nz
Enthusiast

Post by martin_nz »

I deleted some email completely out of my mailbox and then from the deleted items and then tried to restore the same email from the backup and it didn't restore.
foggy
Veeam Software

Post by foggy »

Please contact technical support for a closer look at your setup. Thanks.
martin_nz
Enthusiast

Post by martin_nz »

I contacted technical support and they informed me that i need to use the authentication details of the target mailbox when recovering email. I believe you can apply impersonation settings to your admin user in order to get around this. Has anyone done this?
foggy
Veeam Software

Post by foggy »

Provided that you have full access to the target mailbox, restore should be performed fine, no impersonation is required. Please check permissions and continue investigating with technical support.
Didi7
Veteran
Liked: 59 times

[MERGED] Question about Exchange 2010 item restore ...

Post by Didi7 »