Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
micmac
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Charles Mailhot

Need your thought on a new VEEAM 8 setup

Post by micmac »

Hi,

I'm new to VEEAM and I've been asked to setup a new VEEAM Backup and Replication solution for a client. I did take the time to read about VEEAM but I don't have much time left to deliver the solution. That's why I'm here and I would like to have your thought on how I should setup the whole thing.

Here are some details in the infrastructure:
- VEEAM 8 Backup & Replication Enterprise license has been purchased
- 4 different sites with ~50Mbps available bandwidth between them for VEEAM
- A total of around 60 VMs in the whole environment

SITE1
-----
5x ESXi 5.5 hosts standard edition
1x vCenter 5.5 server (virtual)
1x EMC VNX5200 used for VM datastores (iSCSI)
1x HP P2000 G3 used to store backups (iSCSI)
1x Physical server with HP MSL G3 Tape Library (SAS) and 10Gb NICs for iSCSI to connect to the HP P2000 storage unit

SITE2
-----
5x ESXi 5.5 hosts standard edition
1x EMC VNX5200 used for VM datastores (iSCSI)
1x HP P2000 G3 used to store backups (iSCSI)

SITE3
-----
2x ESXi 5.5 hosts standard edition (with local RAID5 storage that can be used to store backups)
1x HP P2000 G3 used for VM datastores (SAS-DAS)

SITE4
-----
2x ESXi 5.5 hosts standard edition (with local RAID5 storage that can be used to store backups)
1x HP P2000 G3 used for VM datastores (SAS-DAS)

I think the idea behind that setup was to use Backup proxies in each site to make local backups of the VMs on disk (on HP P2000 for SITE1 and SITE2 and on ESXi hosts' local storage for SITE3 and SITE4). Then after, the backups would be "replicated" to the VEEAM Backup Server (physical server) in SITE1 and then put on tape for off-site backups. Not sure about that since the guy that planned everything has left without leaving any info on his thoughts. Grrr...