Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
smartens
Novice
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Steve Martens

Long Retention Best Practice

Post by smartens »

Hi All,

I'm brand new to Veeam B&R and I'm trying to figure out the best way to do some very long retention.

I have one Hyper-V VM that I want to keep for a long time. Data on this VM needs daily recovery points for 60 days so I have configured a forward incremental backup job to do that. The retention policy is set to 60 restore points, the job runs every day, with an Active Full Backup on the last Friday of each month. If I understand this correctly, I will have a minimum of three full backups (Day 1, Day 30, and Day 60) on disk and the oldest full backup with subsequent incrementals will be kept until the fourth full is created. After the fourth full is created, the oldest full and subsequent 30ish incrementals will be removed.

That's all I really need on a daily basis, but I need to archive a full backup monthly for 10 years. What is the best way to accomplish this?

Any advice would be great!

Thanks!

Steve
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Long Retention Best Practice

Post by Shestakov » 1 person likes this post

Hi Steve,
Your understanding of forward incremental method is correct.
Regarding Full monthly backups. Do you have a secondary repository to fulfill 3-2-1 backup rule? If yes and you are using backup copy job for it(best practice), I would suggest to use GFS retention to keep 120 weekly backups.
If you don`t have a secondary repository, I would suggest to create another backup job with 120 restore points to run only active fulls monthly.
Thanks.
smartens
Novice

Post by smartens »

Thanks Shestakov,