Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
vaicsimmons
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Chris Simmons

Suggestions / Comments for Backup Strategy

Post by vaicsimmons »

I am new to Veeam and I’m looking for a bit of advice. I currently have 15 VMs all running Windows Server 2012 R2 that I would like to backup. According to Veeam B&R, I have about 1.5 TB worth of VMs in total. If you consider that I am running Windows Server 2012 Deduplication on my file server, I am around 1 TB in total data between all the VMs.

Most of the data on our file server is pretty stagnant. The growth of our file server is pretty slow. Without Windows Deduplication, I have about 600 GB of storage in total on the file server. If I was to guess, there is well under 1 GB of files added per week. The other active servers would be our Exchange and SQL servers. The Exchange server has roughly 50 mailboxes on it. The SQL Server has a handful of databases with the largest being 8 GB. All-in-all, we are a small shop.

I am looking at purchasing either a Synology RS2414+ or a Synology RS815+ to house my onsite backups. My thoughts are to keep 7-14 days of restore points, a months worth of weekly backups, 12 months of monthly backups and 7 yearly backups.

If my thoughts are correct, I can run Veeam B&R in a Windows Server 2012 R2 VM. I can then add two new disks to that VM and have those disks stored on the Synology device. I can then enable Windows 2012 deduplication on the disk / volume that holds my achieved (weekly, monthly and yearly) backups to minimize the actual storage space consumed.

With all of that said, since I am new to this…I am looking for some feedback on my strategy. Do you guys / gals have any comments or suggestions on using a Synology device to store my backups? Any comments on my backup plan are appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions and help!
k00laid
Veeam Vanguard
Liked: 51 times
Full Name: Jim Jones