Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Nobody
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Andreas Girrbach

Consistent Backup of vPostgres DB

Post by Nobody »

Hello Support

On vCenter 6.0, we will use the default vPostgres DB on our Windows vCenter.
What is Veeam suggesting to have a fully consistent backup of the DB without stoping any services?

Are there any plans to support the vPostgres DB directly?

Best regards
Andreas Girrbach
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Consistent Backup of vPostgres DB

Post by dellock6 »

Hi Andreas,
I'm not a PostgreSQL expert, but I was reading around for your same reasons, and found some info here: http://www.postgresql.org/docs/9.4/inte ... ackup.html

Looking at the three options, first of all file system level backup is not an option since it can only be done with the database in shutdown state. PG Dump seems to be a good solution, and looking at the commands seems it can be easily integrated with a pre-job script. This obsiously have the limit to restore the entire database at the same state of the time of the dump itself, but I think being it the database for vCenter, is good enough.
There's another option to do point-in-time backups which sounds similar to Oracle archive logs, but I don't honestly see the need to do so for the vCenter database, is more suited for other production uses of PostgreSQL.

Luca
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2022
Veeam VMCE #1
larry
Veteran
Liked: 97 times
Full Name: Larry Walker

Post by larry »

If you come up with a script please post it. Would be nice to have a Veeam best practice way of backing up the vCenter Server Appliance. Will be doing the update when the dust settles on 6.0.
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Post by dellock6 »