Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kpin
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Keith Pinion

Looking for Opinions on Full Backups

Post by kpin »

Ok I've realized I need to change by backup jobs due to the way take our backups offsite.

I have a Veeam server setup with ~6 TB of storage space. I was running 7 day forward incremental with 1 active full weekly. I'd like to keep at least a minimum of a months backups on the Veeam server. Id really like to go 60 or even 90 days if possible. The issue with the way I'm setup now is that we do a daily backup of our Veeam server to an external drive to take offsite. I'd like to rotate these daily, but with the Active full backup running, My backup to the external drive runs a full off the entire Veeam server. This takes a lonnnng time.

Here are my thoughts. (I'm new to Veeam so any opinions or advice are welcome)
I'd like to run as many incremental backups as possible without corrupting the backup chain. My plan was to do a full backup to an external drive of all VMs either monthly or however long I can leave the incrementals on the Veeam server. Should I convert my backup chain to a do 30 full increment restore points and transform all current restore points (including all the full backups I have) to a synthetic full forward incremental job. My understanding is that this will keep one full backups stored and delete the previous one.

Thanks in advance.
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
Liked: 168 times
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Looking for Opinions on Full Backups

Post by emachabert »

I don't get exactly what you want regarding the daily rotated hard drive

I understand you want to do a daily backup of your VMs, with 60 or more restore point, and also a daily copy of this backup to an external, rotated, hard drive ?

For reducing the backup footprint on the target storage, you should look at the forever incremental mode (incremental with no full, active or synthetic) to reduce the amount of space used by the backups.