Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
CoffeeCup
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Luba

Weekly Backup for Static VMs

Post by CoffeeCup »

Hello,

I'm new in Veeam environment and some questions are unclear so I hope for your help...
We have a few "static" VMs that we are planning to backup weekly and then archived (to tape managed by Backup Exec) also weekly. 2-4 restore points should be enough and we hope to have full backup on the tape. If I configured the Reversed incremental backup to run, let's say every Fri at 10 pm will it be enough? I understand it properly I will have the full backup after job will be done and I could start Backup Exec job to transfer it to tape. Should I also schedule Active full backup (to run monthly, for example, also on Fri?) or it's not required?

Thank you very much,
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Weekly Backup for Static VMs

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

With reversed incremental backup the latest restore point will always be a full backup, so, yes you can send this backup to tape afterwards. Active full backup is not required, however I would recommend to run a SureBackup job to make sure all applications in these VMs are in consistent state before sending them to the archival location.

BTW, you can use Veeam B&R to send these backups to tape as well, without using Backup Exec.

Thank you!
CoffeeCup
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Luba

Post by CoffeeCup »

I'll try to configure the tape backup job using Veeam - I tried with the trial Veeam and looked like Backup exec locked tape (it was visible but couldn't find any tapes though there were plenty available) but maybe I just missed some steps...
Thank you very much for the reply!
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, that's correct, sharing tape library is not possible, unless your library supports partitioning.
veremin
Product Manager