Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
shale
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Scott Hale

Best OS for running Veeam 4 ?

Post by shale »

I am new to the product, so I was wondering if there was any particular Windows OS that the application runs best /
most trouble free on ?

I am going to be doing LAN free backup with vSphere API + CBT against ESXi 4 servers.

I had been testing it on WinXP Pro X-64.

Thank you in advance for your suggestions and opinions.

SH
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Best OS for running Veeam 4 ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Scott,

It doens't make such a big difference what to choose, but I would recommend you running Veeam Backup server on Windows Server platform for sure. Judging by the feedback, Windows 2003 is the most commonly used platform, but don't hesitate to use Veeam backup server on Windows 2008 R2 either.
If you're going to use SAN mode, you'd better install your Veeam backup server on a Windows server with powerful CPU to get good performance rates.

Thank you!
rfn
Expert
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen

Does the OS on the VB&R server matter?

Post by rfn »

[merged into similar discussion]

Hi,

Last week I moved our VB&R server from a virtual to a physical server. It's an older PowerEdge 2900 with two dual core processors and it's connected to our iSCSI network with one of the built-in Gigabit ports. Performance has improved when compared to the 4 vCPU VM running on more powerfull hardware.

To save licenses then the server was also built to be a backup domain controller and is located in our secondary server room where the replicas and the backup lives. The OS was Windows Server 2008 R2.