Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
Anthony853
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Anthony Tam

Only backup MSSQL

Post by Anthony853 »

HI forum,

I am new in Veeam backup, i have install the Veeam B&P 8.0 for testing.

In our company requirement, the OS backup and data backup should be separate.

we are running Hyper-V 2012R2.
VM OS structure: C: 50G for OS, D: 10G for System Log, M :100G for DB file(mdf), L: 20G for DB Log(Ldf)

For the OS (only C) backup and restore, Veeam working fine and good for us.

But for MSSQL server (only M and L), i can back it up but restore will fail.
while restore it will show the error
Database 'newDB' restore failed. ExlorerManagementService: Failed to get VM mount result (sessionid =XXX-XX' SQL metadata for database newDB not found in restore point XXXX-XXXX)

i have another test when backup both all disk (C,D,M and L), everything fine.

i am confuse that the DB backup why still need the OS drive.

Since in our policy, DB backup should be daily full and 15min log incl backup.

if everyday doing a full system backup. i think it is very waste disk space and time.

PS: i search in google and found this http://www.veeam.com/kb1991, already install the b2 udpate, but problem still there.

please give advice, am i missing something or Veeam backup do not support only MS SQL backup ???
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: Only backup MSSQL

Post by PTide »

Hi,

MSSQL database consists not only of the database files, but also it includes a bunch of supplements such as metadata files, libraries etc. All those items are usually spread across the system. Please see this guide.

There are two options: