Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
RuiMota
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Rui Mota

Retain Multiple Backup Sets (Full+Incremental)

Post by RuiMota »

Hello,

I'm a newbie with a mission to configure backup jobs on a recently bought Veeam Backup and Replication 8.
Since my company already has a backup policy retention for backup jobs on physical servers (using shadowprotect), i am currently trying to configure Veeam with the same existing rules.

The current scenario is:
3 NAS Backup repositories (without storage space limitations)
3 VMware HOSTS populated each with multiple VM (1 vCenter appliance included)

Our policy for backup jobs and backup retention is:
1 weekly full backup + incrementals (every 120 minutes) with 5 weeks retention (1 week + incremetals job is considered as one backup set)
1 monthly full backup with 13 months retention ( 1 month job is considered as one backup set)

It seeams that Veeam retention policy uses a different approach using restore points to keep on disk.

I wonder if its possible to configure Veeam so that i can retain booth full backups + incremental for a period of 5 weeks?

Thanks,

Rui Mota
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Retain Multiple Backup Sets (Full+Incremental)

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Rui and welcome to the forums!
You are correct, Veeam has retention point number approach, which means we need to do a simple math here.
RuiMota wrote:1 weekly full backup + incrementals (every 120 minutes) with 5 weeks retention (1 week + incremetals job is considered as one backup set)
So you need 12 backups a day for 35 days = 420 restore points. You can also set Veaam B&R to run Full backup weekly when needed.
Do you also need to backup your VMs during the night and weekend? If no, you can set a backup window and reduce the number of restore points to keep.
RuiMota wrote:1 monthly full backup with 13 months retention ( 1 month job is considered as one backup set)