Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
RupeMart
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Rupert Martin

Target space estimates and failed transfer recovery

Post by RupeMart »

I'm new to Veeam Backup and Replication and have been experimenting with the evaluation version. So far, it's doing everything I need it to, but I have a couple of questions.

Is there a way to calculate the approximate amount of space required on the target, for USB disk for backup and second ESXi host for replication? While the GUI provides an estimate figure, I'm provisioning new servers and need to know how much of the disk to allocate to guests and to the backup and replication files. We have two ESXi v4 hosts which will each run 50% of the guest VMs, and will replicate between themselves, i.e. ESXi 1 runs A and holds a replication copy of B, and ESXi 2 runs B and holds a replication copy of A. This is for a small business that cannot afford enterprise level fail-over solutions, and Veeam seems perfect for this situtation.

Also, if I've started a backup or replication job, and a problem causes it to abort, what is the consistency of the backup and replication copies? Are they as good as the most recent successful backup and/or replication jobs, or do following backup and/or replication jobs need to run to be able to bring the data to a usable state?

I've searched the forums for "space", "estimate", "size", etc, and not found any information postings.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6700 times

Re: Target space estimates and failed transfer recovery

Post by Gostev »

Hello, there is a Disk Cost button on the Destination step of the job's wizard to calculate the approximate amount of space required on the target according to your selected data retention policy. It is worst-case ballpark approximation though, actual numbers may vary significantly depending on the actual workload your VMs run.