Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ArkHosp
Novice
Liked: 1 time

Email Notification "Window"?

Post by ArkHosp »

Hello Veeamers!

I'm fairly new to this application and I was searching all through the options for any way to limit the hours of the day that email notifications can be sent, and I just can't find any such feature.
Is there a way to do this?

I'm sure most of you are like me and absolutely HAVE to have email notifications on your smart phone (network outages, mail loop failures, etc.) On our previous backup software I had set it up to NOT email me between 11pm-6am (otherwise it would wake me up at 3am just to let me know "everything is working! Backup success!").

Am I simply not looking in the right spot or has this feature been overlooked by the Veeam Team? If so, is there somewhere to request features for future versions?

This seems so obvious to me that I'm a little surprised it's not a setting on the SMTP setup page. I sooooo want to get a good nights sleep, but I really don't want to just completely disable notifications on Veeam to do it.

Any advice?
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Email Notification "Window"?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

You can disable notifications on successful backup job runs, but keep receiving errors and warnings. Is this what you're after?

Thank you!
ArkHosp
Novice
Liked: 1 time

Post by ArkHosp »

Even if I do that, some of our backups run late night/ early morning (plus there are catalog / index jobs that run seemingly randomly) so I just don't want to be woken up at all. However, daytime jobs I would like to get notifications (both failures and successes).

Not to bring up the B-word, but backup exec had an option under notifications to set availability windows, outside of which it would not send messages.