Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
briggs
Enthusiast
Liked: 3 times
Full Name: Alan Thompson

Restore speed entire VM?

Post by briggs »

Hi,
I am very new to Veeam, and we're just doing some test restores to ensure we're getting good backups.
I've done a restore on a VM that we've backed up. It's 60GB, but Veeam got the backup files down to 22GB.
When I restore this, across a 1Gbps network, it seems to take a long time. The speed shows 12MB/s.
Should I expect much faster than this? I can't help thinking if I lost a critical server (or all the servers if the SAN failed!) then I'd be doing restores for days on end at that speed, as some of our VM's are 600GB+

TIA, Alan
briggs
Enthusiast

Re: Restore speed entire VM?

Post by briggs »

OK, just tried restoring the same VM to another host, and it's almost 3 times the speed.

Basically, we have ESXi 5.1 essentials plus, we have a 2 host cluster (2 x DL380 G8, with 2 x 6 core CPU@2Ghz) and a 3rd host that isn't in the cluster (DL380 G7, 2 x 4 core CPU@2.6Ghz). The 2 hosts are on an ISCSI storage network to a P2000 SAN. The 3rd host is a standalone server, with 8 x 300GB SAS disks in RAID5. The backups are on a QNAP NAS box (1 Gbps NIC).

Is the restore speed being limited by the network? Or the local storage? We're using the same Veeam server to run the restore, and that Veeam is located on the ISCSI storage.

Just trying to establish some benchmarks, if I know that it's way too slow, then I need to sort it now. If it's normal (hope not!) then I guess I accept that full server restores are going to take a long time!

Thanks, Alan
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy »

Alan, it most likely depends on whether you have a backup proxy installed on the host to which you are restoring. In this case hotadd transport mode is used to populate VM disks, otherwise the VM is restored over network.
chrisdearden
Veteran
Liked: 226 times
Full Name: Chris Dearden