Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
rich_england
Novice
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Richard England

Reverse Incremental - Incredibly Slow

Post by rich_england »

Hi all,

Firstly want to say I'm by no means a Veeam expert so go easy on me. We recently had a powercut which has caused havoc with our current backup schedule. I'll give you a quick debrief on our system:

4 - ESX 5.5 VMWare hosts

Backup VM has Veeam 6.1 installed - yes, I know this is an outdated version and we are planning on upgrading in the near future.

Backup schedule was a reverse incremental ran every night on our file servers. The backup repository target was the E: Drive on the backup server is a 9TB drive spread across several SANs via SCSI connections. Not an ideal setup but this is something I inherited and plan to reconfigure during next summer however for now this is what we have to work with. The Backup VM has 8 CPU cores and 12GB RAM and also has the VMXNET3 - 10gb NIC. It doesn't seem to run out of resources whilst running the backup.

This backup schedule has run fine and dandy for 2 years on a reverse incremental until the powercut. Since the powercut it could no longer find the CBT file so it was wanting to perform a full backup on each VM. We were advised to copy the files from our repository (vbk, vbm and vrb's) to a new location and add it as a new repository so we can still restore from these files and delete them from the current location (E: Drive) and create a new schedule and basically start again.

Since I inherited the backup system, this is the first time it is wanting to do a full backup of the VMs rather than just copying the changes. This is where our problem starts.