Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mmcd
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Martin McDermott

Veeam Design Best Practices

Post by mmcd »

Hi,

We are a Telecoms company and have recently been tasked with using Veeam for backup and DR. We operate VMWare clusters in two seperate geographical locations, we have a 200Mb/sec link between the sites. One site will be active, while the other will be DR. Also, we have a Tape server unit, with around 8TB of disk and a tape library attached to this. As I am totally new to Veeam, I am looking for the following:

1. What is the best design for our scenario? Should we use the Tape server as the Veeam backup server and backup direct from SAN to this, then replicate a 2nd copy to DR? If this is correct or you disagree, please outline why.
2. If the above is correct, should we place a WAN Optimizer agent on a VM on each site? Or is the Veeam backup/management server capable of WAN optimization?
3. We are running SQL server mostly, as I am not a DBA, what considerations in the design and placement of management server should be taken for the transaction log backups?

Thanks
mmcd
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam Design Best Practices

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

Hi Martin, welcome to the forums.

1. Design mostly depends on your requirements, however what you're considering is pretty reasonable. You can use that server as Veeam B&R server and your primary repository and then tape out from it and also sync backups to a secondary location with the help of backup copy jobs. Also consider replication jobs to DR location for lower RTO in case of complete loss of the production site.
2. Veeam B&R has built-in WAN acceleration (which may not be required for 200Mb/s link though), so there's no need for any third-party tools.