Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
twwabw
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Tim Whiting

B&R optimal setup

Post by twwabw »

Newbie here- trying to make sure I promote the best scenario for my client. I've read through lots of these threads , documentation, etc., and believe I have this right. I defer to the Statesmen here for their opinions .
- (2) Hyper-V hosts: (1) 2012, (1) 2012R2
- Total of 10 VMs hosted
- total current app 4TB data
- remote office available for offsite copy, VPN tunnel between sites

I want to install new 2012R2 server running Veeam B&R, backup all VMs. New Dell server, direct attached storage, H710 Raid, Raid 10 (probably 2 arrays)

My questions are
- on the new server, should I install Hyper-V role, so Instant Recovery can be done on this server in the event of major or physical disaster to exiting Hyper-V host servers? I did this in my test lab- and it seems to work very well. I realize this has implication of hardware requirements on the B&R server, enough resources to run the VMs on itself if necessary. (memory, processor, etc.) It just seems to make sense to provide the capability, since imagining a hardware failure on one of the primary hosts is one of the main things to protect against.

I'm also having a hard time understanding the Instant Recovery concept. I've tested it on my lab setup, but it seems that it re-creates a new VHD in all methods. Since a couple of my VMs have 2TB of data- the thought of recreating those VHDs either locally or back onto the original host seems contrary to the whole concept of "Instant"-. My perception was that the recovery VM can actually boot / run of the backup file itself. Am I all wet here, or just doing the Instant recovery all wrong?

Thanks for any input!!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: B&R optimal setup

Post by foggy »

Hi Tim and welcome.