Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
mlabbe
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: Michel Labbé

Feature Request - Differential backups

Post by mlabbe »

Hi,

I'm new to Veeam. Heard the name several times in the past years, and we've been impressed by the Veeam demo at SIP 2015 in Quebec a couple weeks ago.
We started testing VEB on a couple desktops after the show. It's a great product that we'd be very interested to use, but we kinda hate using incremental backups.

Any chance you add support for differential backups in a future version?

There are alot of desktops we support that don't have alot of file changes every day so the file size/bandwidth difference between differentials and incrementals isn't that much. However, differentials allow cleanups more easily e.g. in cases like this:
http://forums.veeam.com/veeam-endpoint- ... 30584.html

...and differential backups don't make you lose a whole bunch of restore points when a single of them becomes lost or unusable and breaks the chain (which is the main reason we always avoided using differentials).
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1576 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Differential backups

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Michel,

We don’t plan to add differentials to the Endpoint for now, as we don't have support for them in our backup engine. However, that’s for sharing your use case – it highly appreciated and will be taken to internal discussion. Cheers!
Edmondo
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Edmondo

Post by Edmondo » 1 person likes this post

Hi,

just wanted to chime in and suggest that the differential option would be VERY useful because the incremental backup isnt very secure, it just needs one file to be corrupted and the you lose a lot of days of backup.
Dima P.
Product Manager

Post by Dima P. »

Hi Edmondo,