Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
ruud smits
Novice
Liked: 1 time

Tape selection in media pool

Post by ruud smits »

Hi,
i'm new to Veeam backup and I have a question.
I have setup a Media pool with 4 tapes for a daily full backup, with a retention of 13 days.
As there is enough space on the tape, I would like to append the data to the tape.

Now when the backup start it's asking for a specific tape.
How can I use the software, that it uses the inserted tape, instead of selecting the needed tape itself.
We use a Monday, Tuesday, etc tape.
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: Tape selection in media pool

Post by PTide »

Hi and welcome to the community,

What settings have you specified in the "Media Set" step of Media Pool settings? It should be "Do not create, always continue using current Media set"

Thank you.
ruud smits
Novice

Post by ruud smits »

Hi,

the setting is set to "do not create, always continue using current media set"

But there where more tape in the daily pool then needed, and the software asked for a tape with no protection anymore, instead of the tape we inserted with enough free capacity.
PTide
Product Manager

Post by PTide »

Ok, just want to clarify something:

When your the media pool is out of free tapes (all four are 100% full) the job asks you for a new tape. You provide it with a new, 5th tape that is completely unrelated to the current media pool and the job tells you that the tape you have provided is protected, is that correct? Also, do you have any eject or export options specified?

Thank you.
ruud smits
Novice

Post by ruud smits »

Hi,

There are now 4 tapes in the pool.
1 for Monday, 1 for Tuesday, 1 for Wednesday and 1 for Thursday.
As there is enough space on the tape, I want to use 2 backup cycles per tape. (retention period of 13 days)
So every Monday, the Monday tape is inserted.
after a job, the tape is written for about 25%