Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Alex Pixley
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Alex Pixley

Database Redaction

Post by Alex Pixley »

I'm a database guy and I'm new to Veeam. Before today, I didn't know anything more about Veeam than the name. This morning, I went to one of the VPs in my company and told them that I'd just seen an exciting demo from Actifio that I wanted to discuss. After a brief summation of the demo, he said, "That sounds like what Veeam does. Do they do anything that Veeam doesn't?". We talked a few minutes more and it seems like there *may* be one thing that Actifio has over Veeam and I'm hoping that someone on this forum can set me straight.

Actifio partners with Camouflage for data masking/redaction/obfuscation so that a redacted production database can be deployed to non-production environments. Actifio also works with IBM Optim or in-house solutions that you create yourself. This functionality is a must for companies that are subject to PCI DSS/HIPAA/etc. From the demo, it looks like they have a running backup of the live database so that they can do a nearly-instant point-in-time recovery of the database and a second copy that is getting redacted in real time so you can have nearly-instant point-in-time push of the redacted database to non-Production databases (Dev/QA/UAT/etc.).

I've been refining and reformulating searches on Google for a few hours and not coming up with anything that seems useful. Do any of you know if something like this is possible with Veeam? If so, can you give me a brief overview on how to make it work or point me to some useful links. I am specifically dealing with SQL Server 2008 R2 and SQL Server 2014 running on either Windows 2008 R2 Server or Windows 2012 R2 Server.

Thanks in advance,
Alex
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: Database Redaction

Post by PTide »

Hi,