Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
gregom
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Michael Gregory

Effecient use of HW and offline backup storage

Post by gregom »

I would like to find a more efficient use of my hardware and also start an offline backup storage that I can either run weekly or monthly and then power off. The goal here is to not only be efficient but safe in the event of some major malware/virus breakout that could potentially destroy our backups as well. We have nearly 95% of our servers virtualized, with only three branch offices that still require a dedicated, physical file server. All of our backups are to hard drive, and then those backups copied to another site. Cloud backups is not an option as we are a government entity and are required to keep our data internal. Please keep in mind i'm not super knowledgable on the Veeam backup methods and i'm still learning so some things will need explained in more detail.

I currently run one primary Veeam server at my local site, it has seven backup jobs that run at the end of business day, along with three Veeam ENDPOINT jobs that run from those three branch office file servers. Shortly after those start I have backup copy jobs that run and copy the primary backups to my local repository, and my local backups to one other remote repository. I am mainly looking at how to improve efficiency of hardware use at our primary Veeam server site and also setup a local offline backup storage.

My primary Veeam server is a Dell R710 with two quad core CPU's and 16 GB RAM, loaded with four 6 TB drives in RAID 5 giving me 16.4 TB of storage for my Veeam B&R v9 repository. I'd either like to simply use this as a storage repository only or actually completely remove it from the backup realm and add it to our VMware infrastructure as another host.