Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Corners
Lurker
Liked: 2 times

Feedback from a Symantec user (and feature request)

Post by Corners » 1 person likes this post

I am a consultant that primarily uses Symantec products (now Veritas) products for my customers. Service over there has been getting worse and worse (to the point of uselessness) so I decided to look at Veeam.

I just installed Endpoint on one of my personal machines because one of my customer's maintenance on SSR is coming up for renewal in a few months and I wanted to review options.

I understand this is a free product and it looks promising. Note that "free" is not a large factor in the decision making process.

Some features that would be critical for adoption would include the following:
1.) A central management console for deploy, monitoring, and configuration changes
SSR has a crappy, bloated web based one but it does do the job.

2.) control over how often full images are taken vs incremental
On this customer we save 6 months, new full images at the beginning of every month then incremental after. Without any compression we get very high DeDup rates from the native WS2012R2 data server.

As I mentioned I am still testing it out so I will try to keep this post updated as I see more of the software.

Richard
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6693 times

Re: Feedback from a Symantec user (and feature request)

Post by Gostev »

Hi, Richard - and welcome!

Actually, this product was designed from ground up for personal use by IT Pro (exactly how you are using it), where these features and flexibility are not really needed - so please keep that in mind during your testing when something does not match your expectations coming from an enterprise backup product.