Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
vbr4pppsgv
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: PPPSGV IT Admin

V7 - Scripting SCVMM maintenance mode as part of the job?

Post by vbr4pppsgv »

Hi All,
I have a job that backs up a Hyper-V cluster. It currently has 3 hosts . We just added the 3rd host recently, however I only have licenses for 2 hosts until I can make the purchase in 2 months. I've been manually putting one of the hosts into maintenance mode so that the guests would move to the 2 licensed hosts, but this is a chore. I've looked into setting up Task Scheduler jobs on the 3rd host to disable and eventually re-enable the host, but my backup windows are a bit flexible and I was hoping there was a way to run the scripts as part of the job itself.
I see where I can run a post-job command. I'm guessing a powershell script could be created but I'm not a powershell expert. Also, there isn't an option to run a pre-job command. The backup job is scheduled to run after another job, so I'm guessing I could add a post-job command to that job. Seems kind of messy though. Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: V7 - Scripting SCVMM maintenance mode as part of the job

Post by veremin »

Haven't thought about updating at least to version 8 that has pre-job activity option and Disable-SCVMHost inside this command? As far as I'm concerned, Disable-SCVMHost should put a given host into maintenance mode.

By the way, I'm wondering what's the reason of running an old software version that is no longer supported.

Thanks.
vbr4pppsgv
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: PPPSGV IT Admin

Post by vbr4pppsgv »

v.Eremin wrote:Haven't thought about updating at least to version 8 that has pre-job activity option and Disable-SCVMHost inside this command? As far as I'm concerned, Disable-SCVMHost should put a given host into maintenance mode.
That's what I figured. May have to consider upgrading sooner than planned. Thanks.