Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
SebSpi
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Sebastian S

Tape expires in never

Post by SebSpi »

Hello guys,

I am fairly new to your veeam tool and as you can see this is my first post on here.
It seems like I am the only one with this problem or I haven't searched good enough for a possible answer.
We have a mediapool for our Archive full with eight tapes, while six out of eight tapes have a regular expiration date, two of them never seem to expire, even if you mark them as free, they change their status back to "never". Right now I am trying to figure out why the media pool behaves like that. It seems like this behaviour returns once in a week and every other backup to tape Job is pending in a query while the backup Job to tape for our archive waits for another tape, which does not happen, because the next tape that expires will be in May and of course we can't wait that long. So what am I supposed to do? Eight tapes would be enough if two of them weren't blocked like this.

Do you need more informations or screenshots?

Thanks in advance
Sebastian
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape expires in never

Post by veremin »

Hi, Sebastian,

Can you tell me what media set creation and retention settings does the corresponding media pool have? Also, have you tried to erase given media and see whether it solves the issue? Aren't you exporting tapes to a media vault that has "protect all tapes" option enabled?

Thanks.
SebSpi
Influencer

Post by SebSpi »

Hey,

okay here are some Infos
- Media Set: Automatically create new media set -> Do not create, always continue using current media set
- Retention: Data Retention policy -> Protect data for 5 months
- Retention: Offline media tracking -> disabled
- Options: All disabled
- Summary: Media pool name: Archiv 6 Monate
Media pool description: Created by CARO-HB\administrator at 22.07.2015 20:52:42.