Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
rfn
Expert
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen

Should I use vRDM?

Post by rfn »

Hi,

I'm new to Veeam Backup & Replication and have a question about whether I should configure our file server and SQL server with vRDM or VMDK. We got our EqualLogic SAN's about a month ago and previously we were running on local storage on ESXi. Now everything is on the EqualLogic and we're running ESX 4.1.

Our file server (running Windows Server 2008) currently has only a C drive with a huge data folder where we store all our shared files. It was a stupid design mistake but it wasn't really my decision, and it has worked fine as long as we were using local storage. Now I wish to move the files to a new D drive, but I'm not sure if I should use a vRDM or a VMDK.

Our SQL Server (running Windows Server 2003 with SQL Server 2005) is currently a physical installation, but will we virtualized soon. I plan on creaiting a couple of LUN's for log and database and connect to them using the MS iSCSI initiator and move the database files. Then I will virtualize the server. EqualLogic recommmends that I use the iSCSI initiator inside the VM, but that will make it impossible for Veeam to back it up and that's not so smart.

I have done some testing, and when using vSphere thin provisioning then VMDK's are much slower when writing than vRDM. If I perform a full format of the VMDK (or create it as eagerzerothick) then performance is equal to vRDM, but then I loose the option of using thin provisioning on the EqualLogic. Volumes connected with the iSCSI connector inside the VM perform equally as the vRDM but uses a lot more CPU inside the VM. I have no idea if it's using more host resources to create the iSCSI connection inside the VM when compared to have ESX create the connection, but the VM is definately more busy.