Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
Mapleuser
Influencer
Liked: never

Backup to tape job with incremental + full backup to GFS?

Post by Mapleuser »

I'm new to Veeam and struggling really bad trying to get Veeam to work with our backup strategy.
Basically we have incremental backup running Monday-Thursday and active full backup every Friday.

For archive, we tape out the full backup and retention will use GFS - Weekly/Monthly/Yearly.

However, the "backup to tape" job doesn't allow me to use GFS in conjunction with incremental backup.
The moment I select a GFS media pool, the "backup to tape" job only contains full backup.
If I select a normal media pool, I can see incremental and full backup.

I have resorted to splitting multiple "backup to tape" jobs to address this but the schedules are clashing with each other.

How can I resolve this?
blithespirit
Veeam Software
Liked: 12 times
Full Name: Paul Szelsi

Re: Backup to tape job with incremental + full backup to GFS

Post by blithespirit »

Hello, fully understand what you looking for, simple way to accomplish this is with a secondary target job on your main backup job. (chain jobs)

Create a tape backup job and specify your settings only for the GFS backups.

Create another normal backup job based off the same machines which will include your incremental specifics.

On the third page of the backup wizard choose your proxy & repository setting your incremental needs using the advance button near the bottom. Tick "Configure Secondary Location" tick box and you will see an additional step in the wizard appear (Secondary Target) and press next. On the secondary target page use the "add" button and use Jobs, select the tape backup job you created.

What this will give you is the normal scheduled incremental you need for during the week in the first backup job with the secondary target will give you your GFS backups to tape as fulls.

Hope this helps you
Mapleuser