Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
tinto1970
Expert
Liked: 32 times
Full Name: Alessandro T.

Best Practice for Backing Up Linux VMs

Post by tinto1970 » 2 people like this post

Hi all, since it's my first topic let me introduce me: I'm Alessandro and i'm writing from Italy. I'm a newbie with Veeam, and a couple of years of experience with VMware.
I'm happy to join this Community :)

At the moment I'm running my first jobs both on Windows and Linux guests. With Windows, where I'm mostly running VSS aware applications, i feel more comfortable.

On Linux it's a bit more complicated because VSS is not available. I've studied the documentations and an interesting, popular post which is http://www.virten.net/2012/05/filesyste ... th-vmware/

I think i have understood the various level of consistency in backups (crash, file level, application) but i still have difficulties to decide how to proceed with Linux VMs. Creating the jobs with "all defaults" the VMware tools quiescence is not enabled, so backups taken are crash-consistent. Is it better to enable quiescence on any Linux VM, or it's better to enable only when running particular applications (i.e. MySQL)?

Another question is about that blog's post: it refers about enabling VMware FileSystem Sync Driver (vmsync) in VMware Tools configuration. I'm running on lastest buld of vSphere 5.1u1 (1312873) and i have performed the installation of VMware Tools on a VM today, searching for that "experimental" option to enable. I did not see it: the sync driver is out of experimental so enabled by default or become unavailable?

Thanks in advance
Alessandro aka Tinto | VMCE 2024 | Veeam Legend | VCP-DCV 2023 | VVSPHT2023 | vExpert 2024
blog.tinivelli.com
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Best Practice for Backing Up Linux VMs

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Alessandro,

Welcome to the community forums!