Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
trickybits
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Jakob

Replication question

Post by trickybits »

Hi Veeam folks,
First of all I'm extremely happy with Veeam and it has saved us on a couple of occasions already.
Since I'm new to this I'd very much like for someone to explain a couple of things or point me in the right direction.

We have used replication to migrate VMs from one datastore to another (where vmotion is not available). Manually removed the replica from inventory, moved it out from the VeeamBackup folder to the datastore root, and then registered the VM. So basically we've turned replicas into active VMs. I'm not sure if this is the feng shui way of doing things.

Typically, turning a replica into an active VM in this fashion leaves the VM folder packed with files like .vbk and .vrb. So, as it's technically no longer a replica, can the vbk and vrb's be removed?
There's also an exact copy of the vmname.vmdk file called vmname_working.vmdk which I'm not sure why it exists or even if it's Veeam that created it. What is this file and once again, can this file be removed?

Thanks in advance
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Replication question

Post by Gostev »