Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
koyetola
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Kunle Oyetola

Veam Enpoint Backup for 156 machines with central management

Post by koyetola »

Hi, I'm new to Veeam and I have a scenario in which a customer wants backup for his 153 desktops and 3 servers. We propose Veeam endpoint for all the machines, backing up to a repository on a synology NAS. or will backing up directly to the NAS be better?

What are the options for moving all those backups offsite from the NAS either to a VCSP or another location?
what options are there for central management of this setup as individually managing 156 backup jobs looks like a lot to deal with (heard of labtech but not sure how this works or the pricing or if they sell into Nigeria in Africa which is where I'm based)
also will this whole setup be better as a managed service or a one off project deployment?
thanks
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2719 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veam Enpoint Backup for 156 machines with central manage

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Kunle,
koyetola wrote:We propose Veeam endpoint for all the machines, backing up to a repository on a synology NAS. or will backing up directly to the NAS be better?
Using Veeam B&R repository is a better approach, since you will have visibility into the status of the backup jobs, will be able to use throttling settings for the repository and possibly backup copy jobs to transfer these backups to the offsite location.
koyetola wrote:What are the options for moving all those backups offsite from the NAS either to a VCSP or another location?
You will need to use backup copy jobs, that would use Veeam backup repository as a source.