Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V in a single System Center Operations Manager Console
richi3d10
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Richard Draycott

VM Free Disk Space Report

Post by richi3d10 »

Hi,

I was hoping for some assistance finding/creating a report that would show:

- The capacity of all VMs
- The free disk space of all VMs
- Free %
- Old free (free mb from last weeks report)
- change (change since last report)

We currently create this report manually by pulling data out of RVtools once a week, but I'd like to get it working with scom. I'm pretty new to using this management pack, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Rich
sergey.g
Veteran
Liked: 76 times
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: VM Free Disk Space Report

Post by sergey.g » 1 person likes this post

Hi Richard,

Quick reply which doesn't require any changes or workarounds - "Datastores. Space Usage Heatmap" report. Yes, it is Datastore-centric, but it shows almost all data you need - VM size and growth. Free space inside a VM is missing, you can use Performance History report for Virtual Machines. Here are parameters that I specified and again received almost exactly that you are looking for.

Also you can create a dashboard in SCOM to show you information about VMs with least disk space.

Also there is always a way to get everything you need right from the database. On our ISO there is a Resource Kit folder and you should be able to find an Excel spreadsheet there with examples on how to extract and display data you need, here is a link to a detailed description on how to do that:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/mp/80/reso ... pivot.html

Feel free to ask more questions, we are here to help you get the most of data collected by Veeam MP
richi3d10
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Richard Draycott

Re: VM Free Disk Space Report

Post by richi3d10 »

Hey,