Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Graham
Lurker
Liked: never

specified share does not exist

Post by Graham »

Hi all,

I'm new to veeam and just trying to set it up. I have the free edition to evaluate.
Running Backup and replication version 9.0.0.1491.

I can do a VeeamZIP backup of any of my vms to a network share running on a Linux nas, using the "root" credentials of my nas. However, if I try to backup to any shares on a windows server, I get a message "specified share does not exist or credentials are invalid". I've tried several shares on several windows servers, with various credentials, all to no avail.

I've tried writing to the shares in Windows Explorer and its fine.

Is there anything I am missing or is it broken?

Many thanks

Graham
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: specified share does not exist

Post by foggy »

Hi Graham, any chance the share is hidden (with $ at the end)?
Graham
Lurker

Post by Graham »

Hi Foggy, thanks for the reply.

No, the shares are not hidden, although I have tried in hidden shares too!

I created a share on my target \\vs001\backup and shared it for all users - full permission. I'm connecting using my windows domain credentials.
foggy
Veeam Software

Post by foggy »

Please contact technical support for a closer look.
navs
Novice
Full Name: Nav Sangha

[MERGED] : Veeam to network share via GUI

Post by navs »

I am having a weird issue which i cant resolve, i am running veeam free 9 update 1. Veeam is installed on a standalone 2012r2 std hyper-v host server and i am running the console from the same server,.

From the console i can backup OK to a local drive, the result is success, although i don't quite understand why the the line "24/06/2016 08:02:53 :: Load: Source 99% > Proxy 33% > Network 3% > Target 0%" means.