Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ssmith@austar.com.au
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Shane Smith

Dissapointed V5 Enterprise Manager still lacks keys fucntion

Post by ssmith@austar.com.au »

I have been using V4 for almost 6 months and despite all the benefits Veeam provides for our Virtual backup solution it lacks some key functions / features in its Enterprise Manager in relation to Job Management. I was expecting that V5 may bring these features however it hasn't (**Note I havent installed v5 as yet I am only going by the Doco's)

These Features / Functions are

1) Create a Job
2) Modify a Job
3) Disable / Enable Job

The above 3 features I would of thought are a must have.

Its very frustrating having to go to 2 different Locations to manage jobs
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Dissapointed V5 Enterprise Manager still lacks keys fucn

Post by Gostev »

Hello Shane, as I previously mentioned in the existing discussions on the similar topic, we do have this feature on the roadmap. We just go one step at a time! If we try to deliver all features at once, we will never release. Unfortunately, by the time this feature was first requested, v5 was already in feature lock state. Plus, it is massive feature in terms of web UI buiding effort, quite frankly - not something that can be easily "squeezed" into the release . But thank you for your feedback, and you can expect this feature sooner rather than later.

On the other hand, can you share your use case on why do you have to constantly create and update you jobs? Knowing this would help us design job management in Enteprise Manager UI. By the way, today most of our customers choose to create jobs using containers/folders, so that they never have to touch them again. Have you considered reducing the amount of required job editing this way until this feature is delivered?

Thanks!
donikatz
Expert

Post by donikatz »

A couple common use cases of ours: