Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Liked: 28 times
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Feature request: address lists for different job results

Post by Moebius »

There is one feature I'd like Veeam to introduce in a next update.
Currently, there is a common setting dictating that e-mail notifications are to be sent in case of success, warning, and/or failure of the job.
It is not possible to discriminate the behavior on different jobs. But, more important, I miss the possibility of creating different address lists and specify for each one in which case(s) the notifications must be sent.

As a consultant, I manage the installations of several customers. In most cases, I would like to be advised only in case of warning or failure of the job; otherwise, I would be (as I am) getting too many "success" email messages that I have to delete right away. It is just in case of warning or failure that I need to investigate to find out what's happened.
At the same time, I feel it is good for the customer to receive all messages concerning HIS jobs, especially those with a nice "success" stamp on the header. It lets him know that his backup jobs are working as expected and reassures him about the investment he made in the product.

Other backup products (e.g. TSM) allow more flexibility about creating and sending the reports. I hope Veeam will improve this section in the future.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Feature request: address lists for different job results

Post by veremin »

Currently, it's not possible to send notification mails only in case of certain job status (be it "Warning", "Failed" or "Success"). However, you might want to write a custom PowerShell script that will check the latest job state and send corresponding mail, based on the results it gets. Then, this script can be specified as a post job activity. The following script can be taken as a rough example:

Code: Select all