Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ITaaP
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Keith Pratola

Backup Design with 10Gb Network and Fibre Channel Storage

Post by ITaaP »

I need to setup Veeam in a VMware infrastructure with 10Gb networking and 8Gb FC. I've never worked with FC before and wanted to get an idea of different setups. The backup repository will be on the 10Gb network. There is no direct storage integration. I figured network mode is probably the best solution to use for this deployment. Currently there is no separate storage network, well IP storage network, since it is all FC. Being that all traffic is going over the same switches, I am wondering if it is necessary to create a separate VLAN and subnet to be used for backups?
csinetops
Expert
Liked: 16 times
Full Name: csinetops

Re: Backup Design with 10Gb Network and Fibre Channel Storag

Post by csinetops »

I'll just throw in my .02 cents because my setup is a lot like you are describing. My storage is all 8GB FC and network is 10GB between hosts. My backup proxies are virtual with large .vmdk's for repositories, some on local DAS and some on older SAN. Your backup ESXi host will need to be able to see your production Datastores. Then you can just leave backup mode on auto and Veeam will use Hot Add mode or fail over to network if need be. Really no reason to push that amount of data over the network when the hypervisor can hot add the VM disks to your proxies for backup.

If it for some reason does have to fail over to network mode I haven't noticed any difference in speed, just more load on the switching infrastructure.

I've been setup this way for almost 3 years now and it works good. Let me know if you have any other questions.
vClintWyckoff
Veteran
Liked: 109 times
Full Name: Clint Wyckoff

Post by vClintWyckoff »