Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
JoshRountree
Enthusiast
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Josh Rountree

2 separate backup servers - 1 for on-site, 1 for off-site

Post by JoshRountree »

This might be a dumb question, but here goes. I've been using VMware and Veeam for the past 4-5 years and have recently switched to Hyper-V and Veeam. All new hardware, new cluster, etc. Everything was working well until Friday night, my backups are not doing well, out of 18 VMs, 9 are warning, 3 fail, and 3 succeed.

I'm wondering if I have created the problem. When I used Veeam with VMware I had a backup server for on-site and backup server for off-site, configured identically but neither server knew about other but used the same proxies. I have configured my Hyper-V backup servers similarly. I have 2, both on-site currently so I can seed the backups and prevent a full backup across the WAN. Is this creating a problem? Will a second backup server that does an on-host backup conflict or interfere with another backup server that did a backup 4-5 hours previously?

Sounds like there might be a better way to get those backups off-site, but my thinking when creating this configuration is that the backup server in the off-site location wouldn't have the on-site backup server to rely on in a DR situation. I also had much success in restoring virtual machines to my VMware cluster in the off-site location from the off-site backup server.

Josh
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: 2 separate backup servers - 1 for on-site, 1 for off-sit

Post by veremin »

What particular error those jobs failed with? Two backup servers didn't try to reach the same VM at the same time, did they?

Also, are we talking here about cross-site backup/replication or the remote backup server is used mostly as means to orchestrate offsite replication/backup copy? In the latter case, why not to make it responsible for backups, as well?

Thanks.
JoshRountree
Enthusiast