Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
DBoose
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: David Boose

possible corrupted backup chain, sparce replies from support

Post by DBoose »

Hello,

case #01887963, opened on Wednesday 8/24 @ 9:10am CST.

I've always had great experiences with veeam support, but for whatever reason this time.. the experience has been less than satisfactory. I'm not a Veeam pro by any means and am still learning the ins and outs of the system.

I created a new backup job for some 'secure' vms a few weeks ago. at this time, there is only one VM in the job, but I was planning on adding more to this job later. im looking through the back up statuses and veeam is showing 'incomplete' for the initial full back up but then went almost 2 weeks showing successful incrementals until earlier this week. im assuming a merge needed to happen and this is where it failed. the error was saying I may have a corrupted backup chain. testing a file level restore for the affected vm confirmed that something is indeed wrong with the chain.

"cannot mount result. only partial restore point for FIB [guid] can be created. cannot process remote mount commands. read: end of file. cannot open a remote backup for the file level restore. agent failed to process method {mount.genericmoount}"