Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
TedStriker
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: MR Bell

Full disk read every backup?

Post by TedStriker »

Hi,
I'm pretty new to Veeam and just trying out the free endpoint version on a 2012 server. I've set it to back up the entire computer to a local USB3 RDX drive and it seems to be working,however on every backup it is reading the entire contents of a disk and taking hours to back up just a few GB of changes.

Is this behaviour by design?

This is the entry in the job summary:

06/09/2016 00:33:36 :: 2TB (D:) (1.8 TB) 647.0 GB read at 115 MB/s [CBT]

There is about 650GB of data on that disk, very little of which would have changed since the previous night's backup. This portion of the backup takes 1.5 hrs

By contrast the System/C drive shows this:

06/09/2016 00:32:24 :: (C:) (117.0 GB) 7.0 GB read at 187 MB/s [CBT]

There is about 44GB of data on the C drive. This portion of the backup takes around 50 seconds.

Thanks,
Graham
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1576 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Full disk read every backup?

Post by Dima P. »

Hi,

To clarify, what backup mode are you using? Thanks.
TedStriker
Novice

Post by TedStriker »

Hi, this is the job detail...

Backup job was modified successfully.

Source -------------------------------------------
Backup mode: [ entire computer]
The entire computer will be backed up

Destination --------------------------------------
Local folder: F:\VeeamBackup\

Schedule -----------------------------------------
Daily at [00:30]
If computer is shutdown at this time: [backup once powered on]
Once backup is taken, computer should: [keep running]
Backup no more often than every [2 Hours]
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6699 times

Post by Gostev »

I would guess you have a few of a very large files on disk D? What application?
TedStriker
Novice

Post by TedStriker »

Ok so some more information.