Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
tomtom
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Tom

Backup to NAS without passing HDD Backup Server?

Post by tomtom »

Hello,

I am new to Veeam B&R but so far I like the simplicity of the program. But I have a question in respect of the write throughput of the B&R server.

I set up B&R 9.5 on a Windows 10 machine that connects to an ESXI server. I started a backup via Powershell script to a CIFS (SMB) share on a Synology NAS.

Everything is fine but I noticed that all data of the VM is read by B&R and written temporarely on the local hard disk of the B&R server before passing the data to the CIFS share.

Why is this neccessary instead of writing directly to the share? And is there a possibility to change this "write cache" to the RAM?
I want to prevent the SSD in the B&R server from fast wear&tear and when every backup will be written on the SSD this a huge amount of data.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup to NAS without passing HDD Backup Server?

Post by foggy »

Hi Tom, looks like you're using the network transport mode and all data is read from the datastore by the default proxy server (installed as a part of Veeam B&R) prior to be then sent to the repository. If you want to avoid that, set up a virtual proxy server VM on the host for hotadd transport mode to be used and present target CIFS share to it. With this setup, data will be retrieved via the ESXi storage stack and sent directly to the storage.
tdewin
Veeam Software
Liked: 646 times
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Post by tdewin »

Could you clarify, did you point the backup directly to the CIFS share or are you backing up to the default backup repository?