Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
corbitech
Influencer
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: Ashok Kumar

Questions about offsite backup

Post by corbitech »

Hello,

The purpose of my post is to determine the feasibility of a topology supporting onsite/offsite backup and to get a rough idea of the hardware and software required. First, I should mention that I have not yet implemented Veeam in my company so I'm at the beginning of the learning curve. Second, I'm not a professional IT admin, but I'm fairly experienced with server hardware builds/maintenance and system admin tasks. My company is primarily a Windows shop at this point, so assume that I'll be using Windows Server 2012 or 2016 for OS and Hyper-V for virtualization.

I plan to have 2 physical sites. I'd like to place my primary servers in a data center (colocation facility) which I'll refer to as Site 1. Site 2 is my main office which also has server hosting infrastructure. Site 1 is where I plan to deploy most of my Veeam infrastructure. To be more specific, I plan to deploy most if not all components of Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 on a single dedicated backup server with local (direct attached) storage. I haven't yet decided on a specific edition (Standard, Enterprise, Enterprise Plus), but any of these options is doable for me.

Now my questions begin with the issue of offsite backups. I know there are several options here. For example, I could outsource the offsite backups to a Veeam partner and pay a monthly fee for that. That is not the option I want to explore in this post. I'd like to know the general feasibility of using Site 2 (main office) as an offsite backup target.