Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
tomstephens89
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Tom Stephens

Advice needed for backup plan

Post by tomstephens89 »

Hi guys,

Im new to Veeam, I am testing it on recommendation.

I have a small infrastructure to back up. My goal is simple:

1 Weekly Full + 6 Incremental backups, 30 days retention in order to allow me to restore to any day within the past 30 days. I will also be replicating this off site over WAN which looks pretty straight forwards using a backup copy job.

I then need to copy the last FULL backup every month to another repository and retain for 12 months. Now its this I can't quite get my head round. Would I use a Backup copy job, with GFS retention set for 12 months?

Could someone give me some pointers on how to achieve the monthly full backup copy? I may also want to replicate this offsite as well once a month.

Regards
Tom
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Advice needed for backup plan

Post by foggy »

Hi Tom and welcome to the community forums. To achieve what you want you can just enable GFS retention in the backup copy job and configure it to keep 12 monthly backups, each of them will be a separate full backup file. If you want it to land on another repository (not the same that the backup copy job points to), you can use another copy job for that, however, do you really need it to be another repository?
tomstephens89
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Tom Stephens

Re: Advice needed for backup plan

Post by tomstephens89 »

foggy wrote:Hi Tom and welcome to the community forums. To achieve what you want you can just enable GFS retention in the backup copy job and configure it to keep 12 monthly backups, each of them will be a separate full backup file. If you want it to land on another repository (not the same that the backup copy job points to), you can use another copy job for that, however, do you really need it to be another repository?