RESTful knowledge exchange
denit
Service Provider
Liked: never
Full Name: Denit Support

Basic requirements for API usage for Veeam reporting.

Post by denit »

Dear reader(s),

I want to excuse myself up front for anything i have neglected to check or verify, for i am a complete noob on API and I want to check a few things but I am not sure where to look.
Now I did put time in looking for an explanation on how to design a workable solution for us.
I will continue to look for a website/link that can shed some light on this.
We want to do backup reporting for all our Veeam jobs across our 2 Veeambackupservers for a total of around 100 jobs.

We have 2 Veeam 9.5 backup servers (both have Enterprise manager plus).
We are trying to create backup reports through API usage.

However, we get some unexpected results when we try querying the server.
I was looking for a website/ manual that might explain the basic requirements for a successful API attempt.

To give a summary of the issues we run into… (we have only been active on one server so far, because of the things we run into)

I have created a Active Directory useraccount “domain\Veeam_api” that has administrator rights on one Veeam backup server.
The software that runs on this machine : Veeam backup console and Enterprise manager plus.
When we run a script to look for backup jobs, we only get a result of 5 jobs instead of the total of 40 jobs on that particular server.
This makes me believe there is some access issue, but what kind of access issue is a mystery so far.
I was thinking an Active Directory domain user would be a fitting way to implement API usage.

There is also a way to create a user inside the enterprise manager, but I do not know exactly if that is needed for the thing we want.
As I said, I will continue to look for more info, but I was hoping if someone here could direct us to a certain site/link that may help us.