Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
tomhkr
Enthusiast
Liked: 9 times

New backup strategy, opinions?

Post by tomhkr »

I've been using Veeam for 3 years now, backing up my production vSphere SAN to a deduping Dell DR-appliance.
It has worked well but recently I thought I'd evolve this closer to the 3-2-1 rule.

Here's what I can utilize:
1. vSphere SAN, throughput 600-800MB/s to my Veeam Proxy. Enough free space to hold at least 1 copy of the VMs I want to make backups of.
2. Dell DR deduplication appliance, write about 400MB/s and read (rehydrating penalty) about 200MB/s.
3. NAS storage, 1 GB ethernet only which means throughput about 100MB/s at most. Can be placed off-site.

I'd appreciate your input on this setup:

1. Primary backup job that creates and keeps 1 restore point (latest daily) from SAN to SAN.
This has the advantage that both backup and restore from latest point is very fast.
We still have not experienced a hardware fault at the SAN level in 6 years (it is active-active replicated between two sites, anyway), all restores have been due to software/users errors at VM level.

2. Backup copy job that creates desired number of restore points at the DR deduping appliance
This has the advantage of being able to store many restore points and still being quite fast.
If the SAN breaks completely the latest points are also available here.

3. Backup copy job that creates periodical restore points to the NAS.
This would be an offsite NAS. For that extra layer of security.
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: New backup strategy, opinions?

Post by Mike Resseler » 1 person likes this post

Hey,

You are indeed in compliance with the 3-2-1 rule at that moment. Actually you will have 4 copies of your data (Production, Primary backup job and 2 BCJ), 3 different media and 1 offsite so that is always good in my book :-)