Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kjc3303
Expert
Liked: 24 times
Full Name: Kevin Clarke

Scenario Help

Post by kjc3303 »

Good Afternoon, please ignore my ignorance of Veeam and VMWare as I am a newbie (attending VWware training in the new year)

I am currently in the process of budgeting for a new small virtulized network with DR and HA, I have been reading through a lot of Veeam\VMware documentation and would like to put what my conclusion is and how I think Veeam can work for me. Can the experts on here either confirm my understanding is correct or point me in the right direction.

Proposal

Site A (production)
2 x ESXI each with 2 VM's on each
above connected to SAN storage
Veem backup server connected direct to SAN with tape drive connected

Link 10mb lan extension cable

Site B (DR)
1 x ESXI server local storage equivalent to SAN

The software I think I need to achieve the Above\Below is VMWare Essentials plus and Veeam Essentials plus

Backup
Daily maybe bi-daily backup using Veeam to Veeam backup server which will be transferred to tape to take offsite overnight.

Replication
Near real time replication to local storage at DR site via LES10 connection.

What I am hoping to achieve is

File level recovery = Veeam backup
Disk Level = RAID 5
SAN Level = Veeam replication
VS level recovery = VMware Vmotion
ESXI level recovery = V motion
Site Level = Veeam replication
Both site level = Tape

Thanks in advance for any advise

Regards

Kev
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Scenario Help

Post by Gostev »

Hi Kev, looks good to me. If I were you I would drop tape backup in favor of offsite backup, but that's my preference.

Note that Veeam can provide not just VM file level recovery, but also entire VM recovery (including instant VM boot from backup files), guest OS file level recovery, and guest application item level recovery.

Thanks!
kjc3303
Expert

Post by kjc3303 »