Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Rohail2004
Enthusiast
Liked: never

Virtual Lab.

Post by Rohail2004 »

Hi guys

I am new to Veeam. We are running Veeam 5.0 and I just have a concern regarding Virtual Lab.

I’d like to implement Virtual Lab on one of our Production host, because I like to have a capability to restore VM instantly from the back up and run in virtual lab temporary in case we have couple of our Production VM’s crashed.

My concerns is am I going to have an issue to run virtual lab on one of our production host on the same network?

Any best practice suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.
Alexey D.

Re: Virtual Lab.

Post by Alexey D. »

Hello,

For the case you described, Instant VM Recovery is the closest convenient feature to use. VMs are powered on directly from backup, thanks to vPower technology. Then, you can use SVMotion to move 'em to production datastore. Please keep in mind that running directly from backup is not so fast in terms of IOPS (because backup file is compressed and deduped). This method can be treated as "spare tire" and is not recommended for permanent usage.

Also, you should consider that keeping these VMs powered on is ok only if they are not plugged to network (there is a corresponding checkbox). Otherwise there might be a conflict with production VMs running on the same subnet.

You are talking about 'virtual lab', but using surebackup is not very applicable for your purposes: VMs running in lab get slightly tuned by B&R (for ex., network mapping is changed - for isolation purposes). So, using virtual labs is not for your goals.

In conclusion, I would recommend to play with Instant VM Recovery and decide whether performance and resource consumption is ok for you.
Hope this helps.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6633 times

Re: Virtual Lab.

Post by Gostev »