Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ec-inflxx
Enthusiast
Liked: never

Performance Questions

Post by ec-inflxx »

Hi,
I am new to Veeam and running the trial. I am have a small/medium sized environment of about 30 VMs that will be backed up. We actually have 7 hosts because alot of these VMs are resource hogs. And we have a good amount of Dev and QA. So I have VM running as a VM with 4 vCPUs and 4GB of memory. For Backup storage we have a Dell MD1120 that is connected via a Perc 6/e card and is presented as local storage to the ESX host. I know this isn't ideal as that means the Veeam VM has to stay on that host but that is the best we can do for now. I have 2 drives configured for RAID 10 (as VMware has that 2TB limit). Everything is connected via GB ethernet. As a test, I did a 70GB VM and the first full backup took 25 minutes and the processing rate was 48mb /s. Is that a decent speed?

Here are my questions I am hoping someone can answer:
1. If the host that the Veeam Backup server is on can see all the shared iSCSI storage that we use in our production environment should I be using Direct Access SAN or Virtual Appliance for my selection and how can I get the fastest backups?
2. Where is my bottleneck going to be in my situation? I am guessing the storage might be with having it as local attached to the host but I could always connect it to a Windows 2008 server and make it an iSCSI target. But not sure if the performance will be worse or better?
3. Is there a way to check what type of backup was actually performed - meaning if I checked off Virtual Appliance is there anyway to verify it used that form of backup or resorted to Network mode?

Sorry for the long post. I just want to be sure I can optimize this environment and make sure I can get all the backups done in the window I am provided. As we are using Symantec now and the backups are taking forever.

Thanks in advance!!
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times