Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
ahm_irf
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Irfan

Unable to login to guest OS to view running processes

Post by ahm_irf »

I am using Veeam Monitor for VMware 5.0. After connecting to my ESXi server, I tried to connect windows XP SP3 guest operating system on processes Tab, in order to view its processes. But I always get the error "Login failure: Unknown username or bad password". There is no firewall installed on the Guest OS and I have also enabled the remote connection on the guest OS. Does anyone have any idea about the problem.

PS: I am new to Veeam monitor tool
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to login to guest OS to view running processes

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Irfan,

Could you please tell if you have any special characters in the user name or password? Are you able to connect to any other VM?

Thanks!
ahm_irf
Influencer

Post by ahm_irf »

No there is no special characters in the password. It just comprises of numbers and alphabets.

I have tried it on Linux where I got the error "network name cannot be found"
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hm... do you specify the credentials in the following format: DOMAIN\User_name? And what about other Windows Guests?
ahm_irf
Influencer

Post by ahm_irf »

Currently I have two physical machines connected using a hub. One has ESXi installed which has XP and Redhat on it. Other machine has Veeam Monitor installed which is monitoring the ESXi server. There is no domain defined. I tried to connect both the guest OS by giving the credentials as
1) simply usernames,
2) localdomain\root or localdomain\administrator,
3) I have also tried IP instead of localdomain and also the machine names.

Nothing has worked yet.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management

Post by Vitaliy S. »