Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Sara
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Sara

Backup to an SMB share or an iSCSI LUN? Please help!

Post by Sara »

Hey guys,

Total backup/storage newbie here! I have done a lot of research on this topic but can't seem to find a conclusive answer and I'm really hoping that some people will chime in.

This is my current situation:

I've set Veeam to do an entire system back up (plus incrementals) to an SMB share on my Synology NAS, mapped to a letter-drive on Windows 10 Pro, on my laptop. The network includes a 4-port 1GbE switch. The Synology's 2 NICs are connected to the switch via Cat 6 (with adaptive load balancing enabled) and the laptop is connected to the switch also via Cat 6. The Synology is running RAID 10 / btrfs / four 5900 RPM NAS-grade HDDs.

This setup works fine and the USB Veeam recovery media will let me do an all-volume full system restore, from the SMB share on the NAS, if/when disaster strikes!

I'm now wondering, if, instead, it would be a better idea to create a (file-level) iSCSI LUN on my Synology NAS, which would be mapped to, of course, a different letter-drive on my laptop.

Is this "appropriate?" I've heard that iSCSI LUNs are more of a SAN thing than a LAN thing...

Is an iSCSI LUN supposed to result in faster transfer speeds? CrystalDiskMark seems to rate the SMB share's performance and the iSCSI LUN's performance as pretty similar. However, when I just copy a several gigabyte file in Windows Explorer from the local SSD drive to the SMB share and then to the iSCSI LUN, it seems to be drastically faster with the iSCSI LUN.

Any other reasons to prefer one over the other? Security? Reliability? Etc? I know iSCSI is more of a pain to deal with, but I really don't mind dealing with that if there are otherwise compelling benefits...