Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
paulhardy
Service Provider
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Paul Hardy

General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)

Post by paulhardy » 1 person likes this post

Just wondered how many of us have started thinking about the impact of GDPR on backups or rather the potential need to remove personal data from backups at the request of an individual? Although I think its unclear if the data removal extends to all backups but is covered in Acticle 17 ' right to erasure'. I'm not a GDPR expert infact only recently came across the news this comes into force MAY 2018!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_D ... Regulation

Interesting world trying to protect against ransom attacks with air gapped backups, as mentioned in Gostev digest, but also the potential conflicting requirement to automate the removal of data. :)
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)

Post by Mike Resseler »

Paul,

As far as I see it, this won't be applicable to backups. The right to erasure is important for production data which is "live". However, having a backup of that data does not mean you also need to delete that data from the backups. What happens when you have a legal issue afterwards and you need the data in court?

I hope though things will become more clear in the future :-)
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

That would be a nice loop hole if this was applicable to backups! Open a bank account, do some money laundering, and then exercise my right to erasure to delete all traces of me from everywhere, including backups! Ermm no, I don't think this is happening :D

And let's not forget WORM tapes and storage devices, from which you are physically unable to delete any part of data once you put it there.
ChrisJ83Knights
Enthusiast
Liked: never
Full Name: Chris Johnson

Post by ChrisJ83Knights »

Hi