Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
luminous
Novice
Liked: 1 time

Issues creating a rotating backup job

Post by luminous »

HI all, I'm new to Veeam and have read a lot of guides, but am still struggling to get this setup.

Using Windows Server Backup we have previously been able to backup a Hypervisor and all its VMs to a pair of USB hard drives. These drives are rotated by the customer, when they want to. The Windows Server Backup will backup to either of these drives if they are present. It only errors if neither drive is attached to the server.

We are trying to make a setup like this using Veeam, but so far I have not managed to achieve this. I can activate the "rotating backup" option, but that does not let me select a range of drives, just a single drive for a repository. The backup job only allows one repository to be selected. This leads me to think that I will have to create two backup jobs, one of which will always fail and send an error message to me. I would like to avoid this if possible.

Does anyone have any suggestions please?
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
Liked: 74 times
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: Issues creating a rotating backup job

Post by MichaelCade »

When you swap the USB drives they need to come into Windows as the same drive letter. Then add that drive letter as the veeam backup repository and configure the the this repository is backed by rotating drives.
Regards,

Michael Cade
Global Technologist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
luminous
Novice

Post by luminous »

I believe we have done as you have suggested, but I do not see how that works for more than one hard drive? Please can you elaborate